h1

Adobe PDF Portfolio

September 14, 2010

At the recent DSI conference, I was asked to give two presentations, “Even Geeks Can Speak” and “$0 to $700 in 60 Minutes”. As with most conferences, they wanted student material and a copy of my slides to hand out to the conference attendees. I have been experimenting with Adobe Portfolio on computer, audio/video forensic reporting this past year and thought it would work great on this project.

What is Adobe PDF Portfolio?

Think of PDF Portfolio as a container. This container can hold numerous formats, such as Word Docs, Spreadsheets and of course PDF files. In this case, I used the container to organize my two class slide’s (which I had converted into pdf’s) and student resource material. As with normal PDF operations, the creator can open, read, edit and format each file individually. Another nice benefit (that has been in PDF files for a while) is the ability to secure my files. For example, I could have given the students permission to view the files but not copy or print them. Adobe PDF Portfolio was included in Adobe Acrobat 9 or Acrobat 9 Pro Extended.

Acrobat Users.com has a good tutorial on the individual steps. In my case, the students saw the following splash screen when they double clicked on my class Portfolio;

Clicking on the “Get Started” button gave the students access to the material in my Portfolio.

The slides for the class were easy to access and follow.

For more information on Adobe PDF Portfolio: About PDF Portfolios

Steve

